This page is archived and might not reflect the latest version of the FlutterFire plugins. You can find the latest information on firebase.google.com:
After uploading files to Cloud Storage, you can also delete them.
By default, a Cloud Storage bucket requires Firebase Authentication to perform any action on the bucket's data or files. You can change your Firebase Security Rules for Cloud Storage to allow unauthenticated access. Since Firebase and your project's default App Engine app share this bucket, configuring public access may make newly uploaded App Engine files publicly accessible, as well. Be sure to restrict access to your Cloud Storage bucket again when you set up Authentication.
To delete a file, first create a reference
to that file. Then call the
delete() method on that reference.
Deleting a file is a permanent action! If you care about restoring deleted files, make sure to back up your files, or enable Object Versioning on your Cloud Storage bucket.
There are a number of reasons why errors may occur on file deletes, including the file not existing, or the user not having permission to delete the desired file. More information on errors can be found in the Handle Errors section of the docs.